Although the National Conference of Governor's Schools affiliates and represents only summer residential governor's school programs, other types of programs do exist.


South Carolina offers two academic year (9-month) residential governor's schools: the South Carolina Governor's School for Science and Mathematics (SCGSSM) and the South Carolina Governor's School for the Arts and Humanities (SCGSAH).

Virginia offers three additional types of governor's school programs beyond its Summer Residential programs: Academic-Year (non-residential) programs; Summer Regional (mostly non-residential) programs; and summer residential Governor's Foreign Language Academies.